Introduction To My Portfolio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am and predict I always will be a perfectionist. I am not someone who is comfortable presenting something that isn’t their best work, and even the smallest assignments I will spend excessive time over until I am content with it. You can ask my biology teacher: a simple diagram to create an analogy to a plant cell in my mind became an elaborate drawing of Hogwarts.

 

But because I try and do my best even on the most beginning stages of work, my English papers do not usually end up going in the recommended stages of a loose outline or rough draft to a stage of proofreading and editing to a final product. I will tell myself I am writing a “rough draft” when in reality I can’t write more than a few sentences before I have to read it over 3 times to make sure I like it and then read it with the rest of paper to see how it flows before I can move on. For this reason, I tend to take some time writing my English papers, regardless of them being creative or analytical.

 

Although I am a perfectionist, that does not mean in any way that I can be described as OCD. I can be super unorganized. For some subjects in the past few years I will start out the year by buying shiny new three ring binders and labeling them neatly, but somehow by the end of the year the binder becomes a monster of papers that I am too scared to open.

 

I never have a favorite subject. For example I am not a “math and science kid” nor am I a “history and english kid”. Each year depends on what my favorite class will be, mostly because the teacher can really make a class good or bad for me. I would say I usually like school. I appreciate the opportunity to learn and I feel very lucky that I have been able to be a part of Westminster, but just like every other kid there are those days where school is just not what you’re feelin’.

 

For English, I think my writing skills have improved since the start of high school, especially in ninth grade because I had to write a lot of analytical papers which I wasn’t used to yet. My favorite papers to write are creative ones, but I know that analytical writing will a life skill that I can use for many purposed. But I hope that this portfolio will help me see how my writing develops and will help me record my thoughts for each piece of writing throughout this year.

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.18.56 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.20.07 PM port

Leave a Reply

